Skip to content

Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce Nominating Committee Submits New Board of Directors Nominations

It is with great honor and enthusiasm that I present to the Partners of the Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce with the following slate of nominees for election to the 2021 Board of Directors.

Six professionals representing diverse organizations have been recommended by the Chamber's Nominating Committee for election to the Chamber's Board of Directors for a three-year term 2021-2023

The Nominating Committee believes that the following individuals will be instrumental in shaping the future of the Rockwall Area Chamber:

Lesli Johnson

A member of the Rest Haven team since 2007, Lesli manages the operations of all Rest Haven companies, including Rest Haven Funeral Home & Memorial Park, Pet Memories Cremation Services, and The Flower Box. Married to her husband, James, since 2001, Lesli has been a resident of Rockwall since she was a child and is a proud graduate of Rockwall High School and Texas A&M University. A strong advocate for the local business community and passionate about local education, Lesli has served in leadership positions for the Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce, Rockwall Independent School District, and other philanthropic organizations in the community. Lesli and James have two children, Mazie and Maddoc, students at Rockwall High School. They are active members of Lakepointe Church and committed to their service to Christ.

Jason Linscott

Jason Linscott serves as the Chief Operating and Financial Officer at Texas Health Hospital Rockwall. He has been with Texas Health Hospital Rockwall since April 2016.
In his role at Texas Health Rockwall, Jason provides oversight to the operations and finance functions as well as the Business Office, Food and Nutrition Services, Facility Operations, Imaging Services, Materials Management and Pharmacy.

Previously, Jason was the Director of Accounting at Texas Health Partners, a company focused on the development and management of joint venture physician owned hospitals. He gained his operational finance and accounting experience in various roles within Texas Health Partners. Jason started his career as an associate providing external financial statement audits to healthcare and not for profit clients at the public accounting firm, KPMG.
Jason, a certified public accountant licensed in Texas, earned a bachelor’s degree and Master of Accountancy degree from the University of Oklahoma. Jason is a member of the Healthcare Financial Management Association and the American College of Healthcare Executives.

Outside of work Jason enjoys spending time with his wife of 10 years, Candis and their four children, Liam, Penny, Josey, and Selah.

Ashlei Neill

Ashlei Neill's experience with the Chamber began in 2013 as a member of Leadership Rockwall class. She's now part of two affiliate groups: Professional Women's Alliance and Workforce Development.

Currently, she serves as the Executive Director of the Rockwall ISD Education Foundation (the REF). The REF is a non-profit, independent organization where ideas are funded and needs are granted for RISD students.

Her favorite Chamber event is La Tee Da and favorite Chamber memory is seeing the Division of Texas Rangers enter the House of Representatives during the 2017 Rockwall County Days in Austin.   She and her husband moved to Rockwall in 2007 and have 2 sons in college.

Jeremy Neill

Jeremy Neill is a Vice President Commercial Banker with American National Bank of Texas. As a commercial banker, he specializes in helping businesses solve problems and avoid financial pains. Jeremy is a graduate of The Southwestern Graduate School of Banking at Southern Methodist University. Outside of banking, he and his wife, Erin Neill, have two amazing little girls: Charlotte and Georgia Neill. He is a self-proclaimed avid golfer who’s skills do not quite match his love for the game. He chose a career in an industry with a reputation for golfing only preceded by the PGA, Banking!

David Sweet

David Sweet is currently serving his second term as the Rockwall County Judge after reelection in 2018. Prior to his 2014 election, he served four years as the Mayor of the City of Rockwall after being a member of the city council for two terms. He was employed as a Sales Manager for 20 years with Coca Cola, Pepsi and Bimbo Bakeries. The Sweet family attends First Baptist Church of Rockwall. Judge Sweet is on the Executive Board serving as Vice President for the North Central Texas Council of Governments. He serves on the Board of Directors for the Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Rockwall Noon Rotary. In addition to being a member of the Rowlett and Royse City Chambers of Commerce, he is a former board member of Rockwall Meals on Wheels, Boys & Girls Club of Rockwall County and the Rockwall County YMCA. He is also part of the broadcast team responsible for broadcasting Rockwall ISD sporting events.

Dr. John Villarreal

Dr. John Villarreal joined the Rockwall team in May 2016 as Superintendent of Schools. Dr. Villarreal holds a Doctor of Education in Educational Administration from Tarleton State University, a Master of Education in Educational Administration from Tarleton State University, a Master of Education in Counseling and Human Development at Hardin-Simmons University along with a Bachelor of Science from Hardin-Simmons University.

Prior to joining Rockwall ISD, Dr. John Villarreal served as the Assistant Superintendent of Student Services since October 2011, for one of the highest performing school districts in the state, Carroll ISD. Dr. Villarreal planned, organized and facilitated the district’s recent strategic plan. He has also worked with the Temple Independent School District, serving as Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, high school principal and International Baccalaureate head of school, elementary principal, academic coordinator, Teen Involvement teacher, high school counselor and coach.

Our By-Laws do not require you to respond to this slate of candidates.

Article V: Section 4: f) Upon receipt of the report of the Nominating Committee, the Chief Executive Officer shall immediately notify the membership by electronic mail of the names of persons nominated as candidates for directors and the right of petition. g) Additional names of candidates for Directors can be nominated by petition bearing the signatures of at least twenty-five (25) member businesses in good standing of the Chamber. Such petition shall be filed with the Nominating Committee within (7) calendar days after notice has been given of the names of those nominated. The determination of the Nominating Committee as to the legality of the petition(s) shall be final. h) If no petition is filed within the designated period, the nominations shall be closed and the slate of candidates shall be declared elected by the Board of Directors at its next regular November Board Meeting. If submitting a petition, please mail (no later than November 30th, 2020) to:
Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce
697 East I-30
Rockwall, Texas 75087

Please contact me at the Chamber - 972-771-5733 - if you have questions or comments.
Darby Burkey
Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce


Scroll To Top